100 Years.
100 Ways.
To love the UGA Grad School.

As a celebration of our Centennial Anniversary, the University of Georgia Graduate School has launched our blog detailing 100 different ways that students, professors, alumni, and others can love the our institution.

After 100 years, the UGA Graduate School has accomplished a multitude of different things, including (but not limited to) the graduation of many distinguished alumni and the expansion of the programs available at Georgia’s premiere institution of higher education. Our new blog is a celebration of these accomplishments and other elements of our school that are points of pride.

Over the course of our 100th year, we will post 100 blog posts detailing these different ways to love our school. These posts can range from profiles of our students and programs to news about the school to even just a photo celebrating the greatness of the UGA Graduate School.

We’re excited to share this blog with the University community and the world at large!

About the UGA Graduate School

The Graduate School
320 E. Clayton Street, Suite 400
The University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-4401

Office of Graduate Admissions
320 E. Clayton Street, Suite 400
The University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-4401

Prior to the formal establishment of the Graduate School, courses of postgraduate status were offered under the control of a faculty committee on graduate studies. In 1910, the formal organization of graduate studies into a Graduate School was authorized. Dr. Willis H. Bocock served as the Graduate School’s first dean and was succeeded by R. P. Stephens, George H. Boyd, Gerald B. Huff, Thomas H. Whitehead, Hardy M. Edwards, Jr., John C. Dowling, Gordhan L. Patel, and the present dean, Maureen Grasso.

The Graduate School coordinates the graduate programs of all schools and colleges of the University. Matters of policy and procedure are determined by the graduate faculty through the graduate council. The graduate faculty consists of faculty members appointed by the President on the basis of productive research, effective teaching, and other creative activities. The policies adopted by the graduate council are administered by the dean of the Graduate School.

The Graduate School administers all graduate programs of the University. It offers the Master of Arts in 34 disciplines, the Master of Science in 47 disciplines and the Doctor of Philosophy in 80 disciplines. Professional master’s degrees are available in 28 areas, and professional doctoral degrees are offered in education and music. The University also awards the Master of Education in 21 areas, the Specialist in Education in 19 areas and the Doctor of Education in 14 areas.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s